I heard somewhere that if you save the cheerleader, you save the world.

Lucky 13 v.2

leave a comment »

I’ve finally seen the latest episode of Storyline and I honestly think that it’s a wonderful take on the life of who I would call a reluctant football star. Sgt. Emilio “Chieffy” Caligdong might not be walking around with a litany of endorsement deals but he has managed to become a household name. The documentary, aptly called ‘Goal,’ tells the story of Chieffy and his beginnings with Football. What I’ve always found sincerely captivating about sports is the narrative behind the bright lights and loud cheers. With every athlete comes a beautiful life story that people don’t get to hear about. Knowing Chieffy’s story makes him more human to my eyes but at the same time, stronger. It’s great knowing more about him.

Personally, I felt kilig when he shared that 13 was a lucky and inspiration number for him. When I wrote my plug last night and wrote “Lucky 13” as my title, I didn’t really go into deep thought. I simply thought that the irony between the word and the number sounded cool and that Chieffy, I thoroughly believe, is one helluva lucky guy. But lo and behold, it apparently couldn’t be any more fitting. I must really have great intuition! Haha joke langgggg.

It’s no secret that I hope to grow up as a Sports Journalist and if given a choice, I would love to do profiling assignments. I once shared in this blog that I would love to interview and do a piece on Manny Pacquiao in the future. Well, Chieffy Caligdong is part of that list. I know for a fact that when (not if!) I do get to meet him, I’ll be beyond lucky.

Written by theclosetcheerleader

11/04/2011 at 12:31 PM

Leave a comment